H.R. No. 501

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Jesse W. Rogers is retiring as president of 2 Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls on August 31, 2015, 3 drawing to a close nearly half a century of exemplary service to 4 that institution; and

5 WHEREAS, Dr. Rogers joined MSU as an assistant professor of 6 chemistry in 1967, and he became chair of the chemistry department 7 three years later; in 1978, he was named the university's vice 8 president for academic affairs, and he continued to teach courses 9 in chemistry; and

10 WHEREAS, This outstanding educator was appointed MSU's 10th 11 president in 2001, and over the past 14 years he has proven to be a 12 dynamic leader, earning the admiration of faculty, staff, and 13 students alike; and

14 WHEREAS, A highly respected figure in his field, Dr. Rogers 15 has worked closely with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating 16 Board, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and the 17 Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors; and

18 WHEREAS, In addition to his other responsibilities, 19 Dr. Rogers has found time to give back to his community as a member 20 of the Wichita Falls Chamber of Commerce and of the boards of the 21 Erle and Emma White Hospice Endowment Trust, the Texas Specialty 22 Hospital at Wichita Falls, and the Sheppard Air Force Base Heritage 23 Center; and

24

WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Dr. Rogers has enjoyed the

1

## H.R. No. 501

love and support of his family, which includes his wife, Dr. Karen
Rogers, his two daughters, his son-in-law, and his granddaughter;
and

WHEREAS, For 48 years, the dedication, professionalism, and commitment to excellence demonstrated by Dr. Jesse Rogers have greatly benefited Midwestern State University, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a distinguished career as he embarks upon the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 10 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Jesse W. Rogers on his 11 retirement as president of Midwestern State University and extend 12 to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it 13 further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Dr. Rogers as an expression of high regard by the Texas 16 House of Representatives.

Frank

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 501

H.R. No. 501

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 501 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House