H.R. No. 520

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Communities In Schools of Texas has long made a 2 positive difference in the lives of countless youth and their 3 families; and

WHEREAS, Part of the nation's largest dropout prevention network, CIS of Texas was established in Houston in 1979, and through the years it has expanded to include 27 programs throughout the state; and

This notable 8 WHEREAS, organization works to create 9 partnerships with local school districts, businesses, and communities in an effort to provide critical services to students 10 11 at risk of dropping out; of the thousands of participants served by 12 CIS each year, 99 percent stay in school and 94 percent are promoted 13 to the next grade; and

14 WHEREAS, Helping young Texans to prepare for successful 15 futures, Communities In Schools of Texas is a program of 16 immeasurable importance, and it is indeed appropriate to take this 17 opportunity to commend the group for the support it provides to 18 students in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2015, as Communities In 21 Schools Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for CIS of Texas as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Crownover

1

H.R. No. 520

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 520

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 520 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House