H.R. No. 525

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Professional engineer Michael Talbott, director of 2 the Harris County Flood Control District, has been named the 2015 Houston Engineer of the Year by the Houston Engineers Week 3 Committee, and this achievement indeed merits special recognition; 4 5 and WHEREAS, Mr. Talbott holds a bachelor's degree in civil 6 engineering from Texas A&M University and a master's degree in 7 business administration from the University of Houston as well as 8 certification from the American Academy of Water 9 Resources Engineers as a diplomate; he was hired by the Harris County Flood 10 11 Control District as a floodplain hydrologist in 1981, and during 12 more than three decades with the district, he has held several increasingly responsible positions and been an integral part of 13 14 numerous projects that have helped to protect and better the lives of the citizens of Harris County; and 15 WHEREAS, Since being named director of operations in 1998, 16 17 Mr. Talbott has managed area responses to two major tropical storms and a hurricane, and he has led the way in strengthening the 18 district's partnerships with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and 19 20 the Federal Emergency Management Agency; he has overseen many vital 21 developments, including the Tropical Storm Allison Recovery Project, and in 2004, he guided the update and release of the 22 23 district's Policy, Criteria, and Procedures Manual, which serves as a touchstone for flood damage reduction design and maintenance 24

- 1 techniques; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Highlighting his commitment to the betterment of his
- 3 profession and his community, Mr. Talbott is active with a host of
- 4 organizations, including the University of Houston Civil and
- 5 Environmental Engineering Industrial Advisory Board, the American
- 6 Society of Civil Engineers, and the Association of State Floodplain
- 7 Managers; he has also served with the Bayou Preservation
- 8 Association and the Galveston Bay Foundation, among others, and he
- 9 is a member of a variety of local and national charity groups; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Michael Talbott has contributed greatly to his
- 11 profession over the past 34 years, and along the way he has
- 12 demonstrated an admirable dedication to sharing his expertise with
- 13 his peers, with future engineers, and with the people of Harris
- 14 County; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Michael Talbott on being named the
- 17 2015 Houston Engineer of the Year and extend to him sincere best
- 18 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for Mr. Talbott as an expression of high regard by the
- 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Murphy

H.R. No. 525

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. NO. 525
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 525 was	adopted by the House on February
19, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House