H.R. No. 533

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, one 2 of the nation's oldest law enforcement organizations, are gathering in Austin on February 18, 2015, to participate in Sheriffs' 3 Association of Texas Day at the Capitol; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff 6 conserve peace and enforce the criminal laws of the state; 7 moreover, the sheriff is responsible for the county jail, bail 8 9 bonds, civil process, and the security of the courts, and in some smaller counties, the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and 10 11 WHEREAS, The first meeting of the Sheriffs' Association of 12 Texas took place on August 14, 1874; association members adopted their preamble calling for sheriffs to assist one another in the 13 14 execution of laws, in the discharge of their duties against criminals, and in the protection of the citizens in their 15 16 respective counties and throughout the state; the group has continued to follow the dictates of this mission to this day; and 17 WHEREAS, The office of sheriff is one of the oldest forms of 18 law enforcement; sheriffs in our state's 254 counties are elected 19 20 to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the Sheriffs' 21 Association of Texas; in addition, more than 2,500 individuals are active members of the group, and over 50,000 individuals are 22 23 associate members; and

24

WHEREAS, The men and women of the Sheriffs' Association of

H.R. No. 533

- 1 Texas are helping to make the Lone Star State an even safer place,
- 2 and their work benefits countless people each day; now, therefore,
- 3 be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2015, as Sheriffs'
- 6 Association of Texas Day at the Capitol and commend the members of
- 7 the Sheriffs' Association of Texas for their many contributions to
- 8 their communities; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Darby

## H.R. No. 533

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray
Geren	Murphy	Workman
González	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 533
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 533 was	s adopted by the House on February
18, 2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House