By: Darby

H.R. No. 541

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Santa Rita Elementary School in San Angelo has been 2 named a 2014 Blue Ribbon School, the highest national designation 3 an educational institution can receive; and

WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982; to qualify for nomination, schools must demonstrate academic superiority within their state or show dramatic gains in student performance; and

8 WHEREAS, Part of the San Angelo Independent School District, 9 Santa Rita Elementary is one of only 25 schools in the state to 10 achieve this national distinction for 2014, and it has been 11 previously recognized as a Texas Business and Education Coalition 12 Honor Roll School and a Gold Standard School; and

WHEREAS, Santa Rita Elementary first opened in 1927 with a 13 14 faculty of only six teachers; today, under the astute leadership of principal Kay Scott, the school currently serves more than 300 15 16 students in kindergarten through fifth grade and offers such worthwhile activities and programs as the Fall Festival, Young 17 Scholars' Week, Math and Science Night, the Student Success 18 Initiative through Big Brothers/Big Sisters, and a mentorship 19 program with the employees of Texas Bank; and 20

21 WHEREAS, Children are the Lone Star State's most precious 22 resource, and by raising expectations and encouraging success, the 23 faculty and staff at Santa Rita Elementary School are having a 24 positive effect on our next generation of leaders; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 541

1 be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Santa Rita Elementary School on 4 being recognized with the U.S. Department of Education's Blue 5 Ribbon School Award and extend sincere best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this achievement; and, be it further 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Santa Rita Elementary School as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives. 9