H.R. No. 545

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Recording Academy Texas Chapter are
- 2 visiting Austin on February 24, 2015, to celebrate Texas Grammy
- 3 Music Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1957, the National Academy of
- 5 Recording Arts and Sciences is an organization of music
- 6 professionals dedicated to improving quality of life for all
- 7 members of the industry; the Texas chapter was founded in 1998 to
- 8 serve the vibrant music community in the Lone Star State, where it
- 9 is estimated that nearly 150,000 jobs are connected to the
- 10 business; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The many initiatives of the National Academy include
- 12 professional development, cultural enrichment, advocacy,
- 13 education, and human services programs; moreover, it has promoted
- 14 excellence for more than a half-century as the sponsor of the
- 15 internationally famous Grammy Awards; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Texas artists and professionals won 13 awards at the
- 17 57th Annual Grammy Awards, conferred on February 8, 2015; according
- 18 to the Texas Music Office, created by the legislature to promote and
- 19 support the state's music industry, talented individuals born or
- 20 based in the state received a total of 35 Grammy nominations in
- 21 2015; among the many Texas genres represented were blues, folk,
- 22 country, contemporary Christian, gospel, jazz, mariachi, R&B, pop,
- 23 and rap, reflecting the richness of our state's artistic heritage;
- 24 and

H.R. No. 545

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of the Recording Academy Texas Chapter
- 2 are making a positive impact through their service to their peers,
- 3 and their endeavors in behalf of the industry contribute to both the
- 4 prosperity and the culture of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 5 be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 24, 2015, as Texas Grammy
- 8 Music Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the
- 9 Recording Academy Texas Chapter sincere best wishes for a memorable
- 10 and enjoyable event.

Crownover

H.R. No. 545

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 545
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 545 was 24, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House