H.R. No. 546

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens from Denton County are gathering in Austin
- 2 on February 24, 2015, to celebrate Denton County Day at the State
- 3 Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Located in North Texas, Denton County was created by
- 5 the Texas Legislature in 1846 and named for pioneer preacher,
- 6 lawyer, and soldier John Bunyan Denton; the early years of the
- 7 county saw its emergence as an agricultural center, and the arrival
- 8 of the railroads in the 1880s ensured that the area's wheat and
- 9 cotton would find distribution across the country; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The county has witnessed remarkable growth in recent
- 11 years, as its population tripled over the past two decades, and in
- 12 2013, Richard Florida, author of The Rise of the Creative Class,
- 13 designated Denton County as the number 6 "high-tech hot spot" in the
- 14 nation; and
- WHEREAS, Denton is home to the University of North Texas and
- 16 Texas Woman's University, which were founded as Texas Normal
- 17 College and Girls' Industrial College in 1890 and 1903,
- 18 respectively, as well as a campus of North Central Texas College,
- 19 and the alumni of these schools have gone on to make their mark on
- 20 the history of Texas and the nation; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Further attractions in the area include the beauty
- 22 of the North Texas Greenbelt, the architecture of the Denton County
- 23 Courthouse-on-the-Square, the majesty of the North Texas Horse
- 24 Country, and the action of the Texas Motor Speedway; and

H.R. No. 546

- 1 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history even as they work to
- 2 build a bright future, the citizens of Denton County are
- 3 justifiably proud of their community, and it is most fitting to take
- 4 this opportunity to honor their contribution to the story of the
- 5 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 24, 2015, as Denton County
- 8 Day at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the members of
- 9 the visiting delegation for an enjoyable and memorable stay in
- 10 Austin.

Crownover Fallon

H.R. No. 546

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

| | H.R. No. 546 |
|---|----------------------------------|
| | Speaker of the House |
| I certify that H.R. No. 546 was 24, 2015, by a non-record vote. | adopted by the House on February |
| | |
| | Chief Clerk of the House |