H.R. No. 547

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The year 2015 marks the 100th anniversary of the
- 2 Texas A&M Forest Service; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Established by the 34th Texas Legislature in 1915,
- 4 the TFS is the first state forestry agency in the nation to be part
- 5 of a land grant institution; it holds as its mission the
- 6 preservation of the state's trees, forests, and related natural
- 7 resources, and it has led the way in sustainability and
- 8 conservation, forestry education, and wildfire suppression; with
- 9 protection against wildfires as one of its most important goals,
- 10 the agency provides grants to train and equip firefighters and
- 11 helps direct regional incident management teams in times of such
- 12 disasters; and
- WHEREAS, The TFS is further dedicated to the beautification
- 14 of the Lone Star State; its forestry research has contributed
- 15 significantly to the health and productivity of our woodlands, and
- 16 its field offices work with their communities to plant and care for
- 17 trees; the agency also assists landowners with responsible forest
- 18 management and supports the forest industry; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Beginning with the early efforts of a few forest
- 20 patrolmen on horseback in East Texas a century ago, the TFS has made
- 21 great strides in ensuring the safety of our citizens and property
- 22 and in preserving the scenic landscape for which Texas is so justly
- 23 renowned; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 547

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Texas
- 2 A&M Forest Service and extend to all those associated with the
- 3 agency sincere best wishes for continued success with their
- 4 important work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the TFS as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Raney Kacal Otto Ashby Workman

## H.R. No. 547

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Deshotel Lucio III Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Meyer Turner of Tarrant Farney Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. NO. 54/
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 547 was	adopted by the House on February
17, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House