H.R. No. 555

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Diana Barrera completed her tenure as Nueces County 2 Clerk on December 31, 2014, drawing to a close a notable career with 3 the county that has spanned more than three decades; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Barrera began working part-time at the Nueces County Clerk's Office while still in high school; she was named chief deputy in 1990 when her mother, Mary Tapia, retired after 35 years of service; in that role, Ms. Barrera was responsible for collections, elections, records, and investments; and

9 WHEREAS, Since her appointment as Nueces County Clerk in 10 2004, Ms. Barrera has worked diligently to ensure the integrity of 11 the election process, to modernize the clerk's office, and to 12 increase transparency and access to county government; her many 13 accomplishments include the digitization of a large volume of 14 county records and the establishment of a user-friendly website 15 that has benefited county taxpayers; and

16 WHEREAS, This esteemed woman also collaborated with the 17 Corpus Christi Convention and Visitors Bureau to attract a number 18 of regional and statewide professional conferences, creating an 19 influx in tourism dollars to the Coastal Bend area; and

20 WHEREAS, Diana Barrera's dedication, professionalism, and 21 commitment to excellence have greatly benefited the citizens of 22 Nueces County, and she may indeed reflect with pride on a career 23 well spent as she takes on her new role as court manager for Jim 24 Wells County; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Diana Barrera for her outstanding 3 contributions to Nueces County and extend to her sincere best 4 wishes for success in her future endeavors; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Barrera as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 555

H.R. No. 555

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 555 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House