H.R. No. 561

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud members of the Indian American community are
gathering in Austin on February 18, 2015, for Indo-Americans of
Greater Houston Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, In the first decade of the 21st century, the number of Texans of South Asian descent doubled to more than 350,000; over 115,000 people of Indian ancestry live in the Houston metropolitan area, which makes it one of the top population centers for Indian Americans in the United States; and

9 WHEREAS, Indian Americans are a dynamic ethnic, cultural, and 10 economic force in Texas, with a median household income of \$88,500; 11 they are also highly educated, with 71 percent holding a bachelor's 12 or higher degree; many members of the community are successful and 13 prosperous businesspeople, engineers, medical professionals, and 14 experts in information technology; and

WHEREAS, Within the greater Houston area, several unique and influential organizations speak up for the Indian American community, including the Indo-American Political Action Committee, the Indo-American Chamber of Commerce, the India Culture Center, and the Indo-American Charity Foundation, as well as India House, a community center that benefits all of Houston; and

21 WHEREAS, The Indo-American community of Houston is diverse in 22 religion, native language, and economic status, but its members 23 remain united in the pride they take in their shared culture and 24 ancestry; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 561

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2015, as Indo-Americans 3 of Greater Houston Day at the State Capitol and extend to the 4 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and 5 memorable visit to Austin.

Turner of Harris

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 561

H.R. No. 561

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 561 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House