RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Tarrant County are gathering in
- 2 Austin to celebrate Tarrant County Days at the State Capitol on
- 3 February 25 and 26, 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Tarrant County was created in 1849 as one of the 26
- 5 counties formed from the Peters Colony; it is named for General
- 6 Edward H. Tarrant of the Republic of Texas Militia, and its county
- 7 seat is Fort Worth; and
- 8 WHEREAS, What began as a frontier community has evolved into
- 9 a modern center for business, education, and world-class culture;
- 10 the 2010 census recorded 1,809,034 residents in Tarrant County,
- 11 making it the third most populous county in Texas and the 16th most
- 12 populous county in the nation; the county has 41 incorporated
- 13 municipalities and is served by 20 outstanding public school
- 14 districts; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Tarrant County has many entertainment and tourist
- 16 attractions that draw visitors from around the world; families
- 17 enjoy Six Flags Over Texas, the Fort Worth Zoo, and AT&T Stadium,
- 18 home to the Dallas Cowboys, as well as exemplary museums, including
- 19 the Kimbell Art Museum and the Amon G. Carter Museum, which showcase
- 20 outstanding collections of classic and American art; other area
- 21 attractions include historic downtown Grapevine, the shops at
- 22 Grapevine Mills, Southlake Town Square, Sundance Square, and the
- 23 Fort Worth Stockyards; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Tarrant County is also home to many excellent

- 1 institutions of higher education, which provide opportunities for a
- 2 variety of students and produce a highly educated workforce; these
- 3 institutions include The University of Texas at Arlington, the
- 4 University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth,
- 5 Texas Christian University, Tarrant County College, the College of
- 6 Saint Thomas More, Arlington Baptist College, Trinity Valley
- 7 Baptist Seminary and College, Tarleton State University-Fort
- 8 Worth, and Texas Wesleyan University; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The county's diverse and prosperous business
- 10 community ranges from cattle ranching to small businesses to
- 11 multinational corporations and includes leaders in the defense,
- 12 aerospace, and transportation industries; Dallas/Fort Worth
- 13 International Airport, Naval Air Station Joint Reserve Base Fort
- 14 Worth, and the Alliance Airport all contribute to the regional and
- 15 state economy; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The visiting Tarrant County delegation of civic,
- 17 academic, and business leaders is headed by County Judge B. Glen
- 18 Whitley and County Commissioners Roy C. Brooks, Andy H. Nguyen,
- 19 Gary Fickes, and J. D. Johnson; and
- WHEREAS, The people of Tarrant County have worked hard to
- 21 build and sustain their vibrant community, and they can be justly
- 22 proud of their rich history, their many achievements, and their
- 23 enduring public spirit; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 25 and 26, 2015, as Tarrant
- 3 County Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 4 delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable
- 5 visit to Austin.

Geren

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 562
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 562 was 26, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House