RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Distinguished representatives of the Texas Tech 2 University System are gathering at the State Capitol on March 4, 3 2015, to celebrate the system's vital role in the Lone Star State; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas Tech University System, governed by a nine-member board of regents and Chancellor Robert L. Duncan, 6 7 consists of Texas Tech University, Angelo State University, and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Centers at Lubbock and El 8 9 Paso; the system is a \$1.7 billion enterprise currently educating nearly 47,000 students, averaging more than \$200 million in 10 11 research expenditures annually, and counting approximately 290,000 12 alumni; in addition, it has an endowment of over \$1 billion and some 17,000 faculty and staff focused on advancing higher education, 13 14 health care, research, and outreach across the state; and

WHEREAS, Each component of the system provides innovative 15 16 educational and research opportunities; Texas Tech University is a major comprehensive research university, led by President M. Duane 17 Nellis; enrolling more than 35,000 students in 10 colleges and two 18 schools, TTU has set a new fall enrollment record for the past eight 19 years, and it has seen an enrollment increase of 25 percent since 20 21 2007; with the goal of being one of the nation's premier research institutions, the university's total expenditures in that area 22 23 topped \$153 million in 2014; moreover, 10 faculty members were 24 awarded grants from the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2013, the

1

1 most of any university in its class in the nation; and

2 WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is 3 composed of five schools in various health care disciplines, including medicine, nursing, pharmacy, allied health sciences, and 4 5 biomedical sciences, and has trained more than 20,000 health care professionals; overseen by Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, TTUHSC enrolls 6 more than 4,500 students and has tripled its research expenditures 7 8 over the past five years, with significant studies under way in areas such as aging, cancer, reproduction, and genetic diseases; 9 10 the university also graduates more health care professionals than any other health-related institution in Texas and addresses the 11 12 medical needs of more than 2.5 million people who live throughout a 13 vast 108-county area; and

14 WHEREAS, Joining the system in 2007, Angelo State University 15 enrolls nearly 6,500 students in five colleges and is directed by President Brian J. May; ASU was the first university in the state to 16 17 offer a degree in computer science and has been named to the Princeton Review's "Best Colleges" list for the past six years; 18 19 unique to ASU, its Carr Scholarship program is funded by one of the largest endowments at a regional university in the United States, 20 thus making scholarships attainable by one of every five of its 21 students; and 22

WHEREAS, The fourth and newest member of the system, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso became a comprehensive health-related institution in 2013 and encompasses the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, the Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing, and a regional Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences;

2

1 headed by Dr. Richard A. Lange, the university has enrolled nearly 2 500 students, is home to the first medical school on the nation's 3 southern border, and conducts important research focused on cancer, 4 diabetes and obesity, infectious diseases, and neurosciences; and

5 WHEREAS, True to their missions, the Texas Tech University 6 System and its four component institutions continue to serve as 7 influential leaders in the higher education and health care 8 landscapes, and in so doing, they are contributing to the 9 remarkable achievements of the state as a whole; now, therefore, be 10 it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 12 Legislature hereby recognize March 4, 2015, as Texas Tech 13 University System Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome 14 to all those from the system who are visiting here today.

> Frullo Burrows Craddick

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 574

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 574 was adopted by the House on March 4, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House