H.R. No. 576

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished citizens of Palmhurst are visiting
- 2 the State Capitol in Austin, creating a welcome opportunity to
- 3 honor the city for the important role it has played in the Rio
- 4 Grande Valley and in the story of the Lone Star State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Development in the region began in 1912, when John
- 6 H. Shary invested in property and irrigation to expand early
- 7 experimental citrus groves into a commercial venture; remembered as
- 8 the "Father of the Texas Citrus Industry," he built what is now
- 9 known as the Shary Shivers Estate, a historic home where President
- 10 Dwight D. Eisenhower visited and the 37th governor of Texas, Allan
- 11 Shivers, married Marialice Shary; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Palmhurst was officially incorporated on January
- 13 25, 1964; governed by a mayor and five city council members, the
- 14 business-friendly town is home to a host of retail shops, and the
- 15 region's climate is favorable to tourism as well as agriculture;
- 16 visitors can observe numerous beautiful species of local and
- 17 migratory birds in the area, which is a World Birding Center site,
- 18 and they are drawn to such attractions as the Hidalgo Pumphouse,
- 19 which houses machinery that was used for development a century ago;
- 20 its economic development strategy has been so successful that the
- 21 city does not impose a residential property tax; and
- WHEREAS, Preserving a small-town charm while working to build
- 23 a bright future, the residents of Palmhurst may indeed take great
- 24 pride in their community; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 576

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize City of Palmhurst Day at the State
- 3 Capitol and extend to all visitors from the area sincere best wishes
- 4 for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Guerra

TT	_	3. T	$\Gamma \neg C$
ш	$^{\circ}$	$N \cap$	h /h
			カ/り

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 576 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House