H.R. No. 593

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A dynamic mother-and-daughter team, Gene Jones and
- 2 Charlotte Jones Anderson have distinguished themselves through
- 3 their exceptional efforts as co-chairs of the 2015 Texas Medal of
- 4 Arts Awards; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The TMAA, a biennial event, is sponsored by the
- 6 Texas Cultural Trust to raise awareness of the many ways in which
- 7 the arts enhance education, strengthen the economy, and enrich our
- 8 cultural heritage; from February 24 to 25 this year, the Texas Medal
- 9 of Arts Awards is celebrating eminent artists, entertainers, and
- 10 arts patrons at a series of gatherings in Austin, including a gala
- 11 dinner, an awards show, and a concert; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Ms. Jones and Ms. Anderson are longtime
- 13 philanthropists, and they work together through the Gene and Jerry
- 14 Jones Family Foundation in behalf of a variety of worthy causes,
- 15 including the Salvation Army; moreover, they supervise all areas of
- 16 community service for the Dallas Cowboys organization, and they
- 17 played key roles in the Texas-themed design of AT&T Stadium and in
- 18 the development of the Dallas Cowboys Art Collection at the
- 19 facility; and
- WHEREAS, Deeply committed to her community, education, and
- 21 the arts, Ms. Jones has served on the boards of the Texas Cultural
- 22 Trust, the Meadows School of the Arts, Southern Methodist
- 23 University, the John G. Tower Center for Political Studies at SMU,
- 24 and the Children's Medical Center of Dallas; she was instrumental

H.R. No. 593

- 1 in the establishment of the Gene and Jerry Jones Great Hall in the
- 2 Meadows Museum, and she has given of her time and talents as a
- 3 member of the Salvation Army's Dallas County Board and of its
- 4 National Advisory Board; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ms. Anderson, the executive vice president and
- 6 chief brand officer of the Dallas Cowboys, serves on the Salvation
- 7 Army's National Advisory Board, and she became its first female
- 8 chair in 2013; in addition, she is the first female chair of the NFL
- 9 Foundation board; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2013 Texas Medal of Arts
- 11 Patron Award, Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson have worked
- 12 tirelessly to further the important mission of the Texas Cultural
- 13 Trust, and their outstanding efforts are indeed deserving of
- 14 special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby commend Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson
- 17 for their exemplary service as co-chairs of the 2015 Texas Medal of
- 18 Arts Awards and honor them for their contributions to the Texas
- 19 Cultural Trust; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Ms. Jones and Ms. Anderson as an expression of high
- 22 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Meyer

H.R. No. 593

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 593
	Speaker of the House
T government to D. No. 502 mag	-
25, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House