H.R. No. 594

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Margaret McDermott of Dallas has been named the 2015
Texas Medal of Arts honoree for Individual Arts Patron by the Texas
Cultural Trust; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts program pays tribute to residents of the Lone Star State who have significantly benefited a variety of artistic disciplines in the state, either through personal achievement or through benevolent support; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. McDermott has been a philanthropist and a 8 9 pillar of her community for more than six decades; she and her husband, Texas Instruments cofounder Eugene McDermott, established 10 11 the Eugene McDermott Foundation in 1955, and through the years, the 12 initiative has provided millions of dollars in behalf of worthwhile civic, cultural, and educational endeavors and has assisted such 13 14 notable institutions as The University of Texas at Dallas, the UT Health Science Center, the University of Dallas, the Dallas Public 15 16 Library System, the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the Dallas Museum of Art, and the Dallas County Community College District; and 17

18 WHEREAS, A champion of accessible, high-quality education, 19 Mrs. McDermott has been an invaluable advocate of the DCCCD since 20 its inception in 1965, serving the system as the inaugural vice 21 chair of the board of trustees and playing an instrumental part in 22 the planning of the district's seven colleges; moreover, she 23 generously donated funds for the installation of the Founders' 24 Foyer at the DCCCD headquarters and for the construction of William

1

P. Clements Jr. University Hospital at the UT Southwestern Medical
Center; and

3 WHEREAS, Mrs. McDermott's tireless efforts have been recognized with a number of prestigious accolades, including the 4 5 Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award from the Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women and the Santa Rita Award, the highest honor 6 bestowed by the UT Board of Regents; in addition, she has been named 7 8 an honorary member of the American Institute of Architects, and the City of Dallas honored her with the dedication of the Margaret 9 McDermott Bridge, for which she retained world-renowned Spanish 10 architect Santiago Calatrava to design a beautiful addition to the 11 12 city's landscape; and

WHEREAS, Margaret McDermott has long played a pivotal role in the arts community and in arts education in Texas, and her immeasurable contributions and selfless dedication have increased opportunities for others and enriched countless lives; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate Margaret McDermott on her 20 selection as the 2015 Texas Medal of Arts honoree for Individual 21 Arts Patron by the Texas Cultural Trust and extend to her sincere 22 appreciation for her unwavering commitment to the arts; and, be it 23 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mrs. McDermott as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Meyer

H.R. No. 594

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 594

H.R. No. 594

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 594 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House