## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Ruth Altshuler of Dallas has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 Texas Medal of Arts Standing Ovation Award from the Texas Cultural Trust; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts program pays tribute to individual Texas artists who have made important contributions in their respective disciplines, and it also honors educational institutions, businesses, patrons, and organizers that have

furthered artistic expression through their generous support; and 8 WHEREAS, A native of Dallas and a graduate of Southern 9 Methodist University, Mrs. Altshuler has distinguished herself as 10 11 a respected community leader who has benefited many worthwhile 12 initiatives and organizations in the Metroplex; she has been a member of the SMU board of trustees since 1968 and is the first 13 14 woman to chair that body; in addition, she has served as honorary chair of Dallas Summer Musicals and the Dallas Children's Advocacy 15 Center, as vice president of the advisory board of the local 16 Salvation Army, as vice chair of the Southwestern Medical 17 Foundation, and as a trustee for the Zale Lipshy University 18

19 Hospital, to name but a few of her contributions; and

20

far beyond the Dallas-Fort Worth area as well; she has chaired the Communities Foundation of Texas, and she was appointed to the

WHEREAS, Mrs. Altshuler's dedicated efforts have extended

23 Library of Congress Trust Fund Board by President George W. Bush and

24 to the U.S. National Commission for the United Nations Educational,

H.R. No. 595

- 1 Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) by Secretary of State
- 2 Colin Powell; selected as a trustee of the Laura Bush Foundation for
- 3 America's Libraries by the former first lady, she raised more than
- 4 \$7 million in behalf of the organization; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Over the years, Mrs. Altshuler's exemplary work has
- 6 been recognized with a long list of honors, including the Alexis de
- 7 Tocqueville Society Award from the United Way, the Distinguished
- 8 Service Award from the Association of Governing Boards of
- 9 Universities and Colleges, the Order of Distinguished Auxiliary
- 10 Service from the Salvation Army, and the Woodrow Wilson Award for
- 11 Public Service from the Woodrow Wilson International Center for
- 12 Scholars of the Smithsonian Institution; moreover, she was inducted
- 13 into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame in 1987 and was named the 1999
- 14 Outstanding Philanthropist by the Association of Fundraising
- 15 Professionals; and
- WHEREAS, Tireless in her drive to make her community, state,
- 17 and nation an even better place in which to live, Ruth Altshuler has
- 18 set an inspiring example of civic engagement, and she is indeed
- 19 deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Ruth Altshuler on her receipt of
- 22 the 2015 Texas Medal of Arts Standing Ovation Award from the Texas
- 23 Cultural Trust and commend her for her many good works; and, be it
- 24 further

H.R. No. 595

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mrs. Altshuler as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Meyer

## H.R. No. 595

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. NO. 595
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 595 was 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House