## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing 2 and Visual Arts in Dallas has been named the recipient of a 2015 3 Texas Medal of Arts Award by the Texas Cultural Trust; and WHEREAS, Presented biennially since 2001, the Texas Medal of 4 5 Arts Awards celebrate the power of the arts to enhance the quality of life in the Lone Star State; they recognize those who have 6 7 achieved greatness and those who have opened doors of opportunity for others, and Booker T. Washington High School is the first 8 9 educational institution to receive this prestigious accolade; and WHEREAS, Booker T. Washington High School was built in 1922 10 11 as the city's first African American high school; a half-century 12 later, the Dallas Independent School District transformed the campus into an arts magnet high school with a dual focus on the arts 13 14 and scholarship, and it became a prototype for similar institutions across the nation; its long list of distinguished alumni includes 15 16 jazz trumpeter Roy Hargrove, Philadelphia Orchestra cellist John Koen, visual artists Christian Schumann and Chris Arnold, and 17 singers Erykah Badu, Norah Jones, and Edie Brickell; and 18 WHEREAS, Since its establishment, BTW has won well over 200 19 DeeBee awards from Downbeat magazine, and the National Foundation 20 21 for Advancement in the Arts has designated it as one of five Distinguished Schools in the Arts; the campus received the National 22 23 Blue Ribbon Award for Exemplary Education from the United States Department of Education, which ranks it among the best eight magnet 24

H.R. No. 596

- 1 schools; moreover, the school has been named one of the best
- 2 academic schools by Newsweek magazine and one of the top performing
- 3 arts schools by U.S. News and World Report; each year, 99 percent of
- 4 its students graduate, and 90 percent go on to pursue further
- 5 education; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The high standards of excellence maintained by
- 7 Booker T. Washington HSPVA illustrate the degree to which the arts
- 8 can enrich the lives of young Texans, and this noteworthy
- 9 institution is indeed deserving of this outstanding honor; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Booker T. Washington High School
- 13 for the Performing and Visual Arts on its receipt of a Texas Medal
- 14 of Arts Award from the Texas Cultural Trust and extend to the
- 15 school's students, faculty, staff, and alumni sincere best wishes
- 16 for continued success; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Meyer

## H.R. No. 596

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray
Galindo	Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	White of Tyler

	H.R. No. 596
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 596 was 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House