H.R. No. 598

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A number of outstanding Texas organizations are 2 working together to raise awareness of the importance of out of 3 school initiatives for students, and it is indeed fitting to acknowledge their endeavors as they gather in Austin on February 4 5 26, 2015, for Expanded Learning Opportunities (ELO) Day at the State Capitol; and 6 WHEREAS, The Texas Partnership for Out of School Time is a 7 statewide network of nonprofit, public, and private sector groups 8 dedicated to providing K-12 students with a wide selection of 9 before-school, after-school, and summer break activities; its 10 11 sweeping list of providers ranges from such nationally recognized 12 organizations as the YMCA, Boys & Girls Clubs, and 4-H to local service and faith-based organizations and municipal programs; and 13 14 WHEREAS, ELO initiatives give youths, many of whom are otherwise unsupervised after school hours, a safe and supportive 15 16 environment where they can engage in Science, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education, performing and fine arts, 17 health and nutrition programs, physical activity, and character 18 building; participation in these activities has been shown to 19 improve grades, test scores, attendance, behavior, and grade 20 21 promotion; and 22 WHEREAS, Expanded Learning Opportunities programs have 23 helped countless young Texans to aspire to the highest level of

personal development and have enhanced the quality of life in

24

H.R. No. 598

- 1 communities across the state, and those who devote their time and
- 2 energy to these goals are deserving of our deep respect and
- 3 appreciation; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2015, as Expanded
- 6 Learning Opportunities (ELO) Day at the State Capitol and extend to
- 7 all those participating sincere best wishes for the future.

Gonzales

H.R. No. 598

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray
Galindo	Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	White of Tyler

	H.R. No. 598
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 598 was 26, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House