H.R. No. 616

RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, Dr. Linda Henrie is retiring as superintendent of
 the Mesquite Independent School District on August 31, 2015,
 bringing to a close an outstanding career in the field of public
 deducation that has spanned more than four decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since assuming her current post in 2005, Dr. Henrie has ably guided the district through a period of growth; she was 6 instrumental in Mesquite ISD earning "Recognized" status by the 7 Texas Education Agency in 2010 and 2011, and the district also 8 received the Texas Award for Performance Excellence from Quality 9 Texas and membership in the Comptroller's Gold Leadership Circle 10 11 during her tenure; moreover, she also helped Mesquite ISD earn a 12 five-star rating from the Financial Allocation Study for Texas (FAST) for three consecutive years; and 13
- 14 WHEREAS, This esteemed educator began her career business teacher at Mesquite High School before serving in a number 15 of important administrative positions, including four years as 16 deputy superintendent; Dr. Henrie has further benefited her 17 profession as a member of the Texas Association of School 18 Administrators, the Mesquite Education Association, and the Texas 19 20 Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development; she is 21 currently an active member of the University Interscholastic League Legislative Council and a board member for the Equity Center and the 22 23 National Federation of State High School Associations; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Dr. Henrie has been recognized for her many

H.R. No. 616

- 1 dedicated efforts with several prestigious accolades, including
- 2 the Women in Service and Enterprise Award from Mesquite Social
- 3 Services, the Texas ASCD's Brownlee Leadership Award, and the City
- 4 of Mesquite Pillar of the Community Award, among others; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In retirement, Dr. Henrie looks forward to
- 6 traveling and spending time with her treasured family, which
- 7 includes her husband, Mike, as well as her two children and six
- 8 grandchildren; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Mesquite Independent School District has
- 10 benefited immeasurably from Dr. Linda Henrie's visionary
- 11 leadership and her commitment to creating a superior learning
- 12 atmosphere for young Texans, and it is indeed a pleasure to honor
- 13 her on her notable achievements; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Linda Henrie on her retirement
- 16 as superintendent of Mesquite ISD and extend to her sincere best
- 17 wishes for continued happiness as she embarks on the next exciting
- 18 chapter of her life; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for Dr. Henrie as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives.

Sheets

H.R. No. 616

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Paul Alonzo Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Bernal Hunter Reynolds Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Burkett Keffer Romero, Jr. Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Zedler

Zerwas

Nevárez

Otto

Oliveira

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

	H.R. No. 616
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 616 w 2015, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on March 5,
	Chief Clerk of the House