H.R. No. 656

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The death of admired educator Alberto Byington Sr.
on July 21, 2012, at the age of 77, brought a great loss to residents
of South Texas; and

WHEREAS, Born in Falfurrias on April 6, 1935, Alberto Byington was the son of Alfredo Byington Sr. and Annabel Cruz Byington; he graduated from Falfurrias High School and served his country in the United States Air Force before going on to complete his bachelor's and master's degrees at Texas A&I University; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Byington's career in education spanned nearly a half-century; he began teaching in the Brooks County Independent 10 11 School District in Falfurrias in 1961, and two years later, he 12 became a principal in Encino; he then served as director of federal programs and assistant superintendent, and in 1973, he began a 13 14 noteworthy 23-year tenure as superintendent; he then served as interim superintendent in Mathis, San Diego, and Ben Bolt-Palito 15 16 Blanco, where a six-month appointment turned into a seven-year tenure; in addition, he was a Texas Education Agency Monitor for 17 Driscoll ISD; he was asked to return to Brooks County as 18 superintendent and served until 2010, when he retired from the 19 district for a second time; and 20

21 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to his calling, Mr. Byington was a 22 kind mentor to countless people, and he served in numerous 23 leadership roles; he was chair of the University Interscholastic 24 League Waiver Review Board and a member of the UIL State Executive

1

1 Committee and the Region XIV Music Executive Committee, and his professional affiliations included the Texas State Teachers 2 3 Association and Texas Association of School Administrators; named Educator of the Month by Texas School Business magazine, he also 4 5 received the prestigious Golden Molcajete Award from the Mexican American School Board Members Association and the Tejano Service 6 Award, which recognized him as the longest-serving Hispanic 7 8 superintendent in the state; and

H.R. No. 656

9 WHEREAS, This civic-minded Texan served the wider community 10 as a member of the Brooks County Chamber of Commerce, the Juvenile Board, and the board of the Kingsville Area Educators Federal 11 Credit Union; moreover, he was a valued member of Sacred Heart 12 Catholic Church, where he served as lector; above all, he was a 13 14 devoted family man; he shared a fulfilling relationship with his 15 wife, Virginia Susana Byington, and he was the proud father of Alberto, Kristina, and Ricardo; and 16

17 WHEREAS, Alberto Byington was dedicated to providing the 18 children of rural South Texas with a strong foundation on which to 19 build, and his outstanding contributions will remain a source of 20 inspiration to all who were fortunate enough to know him; now, 21 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Alberto Byington Sr. and extend sincere condolences to his loved ones; and, be it further

26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 27 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of

2

H.R. No. 6561 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Alberto2 Byington Sr.

Guillen

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 656

Paddie

4

H.R. No. 656

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 656 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 5, 2015.

Chief Clerk of the House