H.R. No. 661

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are

2 gathering in Austin on March 2, 2015, to celebrate Alpha Kappa Alpha

3 Day at the State Capitol; and

4 WHEREAS, The nation's first Greek sorority for African

5 American women, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded as a social and

service organization on January 15, 1908, by Howard University

7 undergraduate Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 19 other students; together,

these courageous women are today known as "the Twenty Pearls"; and

9 WHEREAS, The sorority seeks to cultivate and encourage high

scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship

among college women, to improve the social stature of women of all

12 ages, and to be of service to all mankind; a member of the National

13 Pan-Hellenic Council, Alpha Kappa Alpha serves people around the

14 world through the efforts of more than 265,000 members in over 980

15 chapters located in the United States, the Caribbean, Canada,

16 Germany, Korea, Japan, and Africa; for 107 years, the group has made

17 a positive difference with its important work in the areas of civil

18 rights, education, economic empowerment, and improved health care;

19 and

6

8

10

11

WHEREAS, Many members of Alpha Kappa Alpha have gone on to

21 careers in public service, including Texas State Representatives

22 Dawnna Dukes, Dr. Alma Allen, and Senfronia Thompson, retired state

23 representative Wilhelmina Delco, and U.S. Congresswomen Sheila

24 Jackson Lee and Eddie Bernice Johnson; and

H.R. No. 661

- 1 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of the sorority's 29th
- 2 international president, Dorothy Buchannan Wilson, Alpha Kappa
- 3 Alpha continues to address the issues of educational enrichment,
- 4 health promotion, family strengthening, environmental ownership,
- 5 and global impact; the sorority's South Central Region is ably led
- 6 by its 24th regional director, Chelle Wilson of Dallas; and
- WHEREAS, Wearing their official colors of salmon pink and
- 8 apple green, the members of Alpha Kappa Alpha are widely recognized
- 9 for their elegance, charm, intelligence, and quiet strength, and
- 10 the sorority continues to win renown for its service to Texas and
- 11 the nation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize March 2, 2015, as Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 14 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the sorority's visiting
- 15 delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and meaningful
- 16 event; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard by the
- 19 Texas House of Representatives.

Dukes

H.R. No. 661

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Parker Alonzo Guillen Gutierrez Alvarado Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Smithee Dale Leach Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Menéndez Turner of Collin Metcalf Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Farney VanDeaver Miller of Comal Villalba Farrar Miller of Fort Bend Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Murphy Workman Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wu Zedler Goldman Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Gonzales

	H.R. No. 661
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 661 was	adopted by the House on March 2,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House