H.R. No. 685

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. John E. Cameron Sr. is marking his 45th
- 2 anniversary as pastor of Greater Mt. Calvary Baptist Church in
- 3 Jackson, Mississippi, in 2015; and
- WHEREAS, A member of the clergy for more than six decades,
- 5 Dr. Cameron earned his theology degree from the American Baptist
- 6 Theological Seminary in Nashville, Tennessee, and he holds an
- 7 honorary doctor of divinity degree from Rust College; long involved
- 8 in social activism, he worked alongside Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
- 9 on a voter registration drive, and documents regarding his
- 10 accomplishments during the civil rights era are housed at Tougaloo
- 11 College and the University of Southern Mississippi; he traveled to
- 12 Washington, D.C., to provide briefings on African American matters
- 13 during four presidential administrations; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Over the years, Dr. Cameron has received numerous
- 15 accolades, among them the Medgar Evers Award, the Pearl River Basin
- 16 Development District Service Award, and the 2013 Fannie Lou Hamer
- 17 Humanitarian Award; he was a colonel on the staff of former
- 18 Mississippi governor Cliff Finch, and he served as coordinator of
- 19 youth affairs by gubernatorial appointment; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout his notable tenure, Dr. Cameron has
- 21 wholeheartedly committed his talents and energies to serving the
- 22 congregation of Greater Mt. Calvary Baptist Church, and his
- 23 leadership has provided valued inspiration and guidance to his
- 24 community of faith; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 685

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. John E. Cameron Sr. on his 45th
- 3 pastoral anniversary and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued success with his important work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Dr. Cameron as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Thompson of Harris

H.R. No. 685

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klićk Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 685
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 685 was 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House