H.R. No. 686

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Texas House District 95 are gathering 2 on February 26, 2015, at the Texas Capitol to witness firsthand the 3 workings of the state legislature and to celebrate together the 4 place they call home; and

5 WHEREAS, House District 95 includes the cities of Fort Worth, 6 Forest Hill, Everman, Edgecliff Village, Kennedale, and Arlington; 7 and

8 WHEREAS, Camp Worth, on which the City of Fort Worth was 9 built, was established in 1849 and in the years following would play 10 a prominent role in the great cattle drives that defined mid-19th 11 century Texas culture; this history that is so fundamental to Texas 12 was commemorated beautifully in the Chisholm Trail mural in 13 Sundance Square, where members of the community can still go and 14 reflect on our humble roots; and

WHEREAS, The Tarrant County Black Historical 15 and Genealogical Society was founded in 1977 as a nonprofit public 16 service organization dedicated to preserving the history of 17 18 African-American contributions to Tarrant County and has made a significant impact on the heritage and empowerment of this 19 20 community; additionally, the organization holds the Tarrant County 21 Harambee Festival each year, a beautiful celebration commemorating the African art and culture that has defined Tarrant County for 22 23 generations; and

24

WHEREAS, The Stop Six neighborhood is a central part of House

1

H.R. No. 686

District 95, encompassing many different subdivisions developed in the early 1900's, built aside the sixth stop of the interurban rail line between Fort Worth and Dallas; in 2007 the Fort Worth City Council designated the neighborhood South of Ramey Street as a historic district of the city, ensuring the ability of future generations to be able to experience the rich history of this special place; and

8 WHEREAS, Fort Worth is home to several Tuskegee Airmen, 9 America's first African-American military pilots, and was also home 10 to the late Tuskegee Airman Captain Claude Robert Platte Jr., who 11 achieved great prominence as a pilot and flight instructor; Fort 12 Worth is now home to the Claude R. Platte Chapter of Tuskegee Airman 13 Inc., which works to perpetuate the legacies of these incredible 14 men who were willing to serve their nation; and

WHEREAS, The City of Forest Hill, formerly known as Brambleton Station and Forest Hill Village, has origins dating back to 1860 and has since become an important part of the I-20 corridor and one of the fastest growing communities in North Texas; and

WHEREAS, Texas House District 95 provides residents and visitors alike with a community of rich Texas history and culture; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2015, as House District 95 Day at the State Capitol and welcome all those from the area who are in the chamber on this day.

Collier

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 686

H.R. No. 686

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 686 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House