H.R. No. 692

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Fort Bend Global Initiative has been engaged in
- 2 a notable effort to enhance the prosperity of the Fort Bend region
- 3 by promoting imports, exports, and educational and economic
- 4 development exchanges with international partners; and
- 5 WHEREAS, This unique initiative was conceived by Fort Bend
- 6 County Judge Bob Hebert in 2009 as the Fort Bend County Friendship
- 7 Committee, which was formed in 2010; the following year, a
- 8 delegation led by Judge Hebert traveled to the city of Foshan,
- 9 China, where they signed a mutually beneficial sister community
- 10 agreement; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In 2012, this successful program was rechristened
- 12 the Fort Bend Global Initiative and established as a nonprofit
- 13 headed by chairman Allison Wen and an all-volunteer board of
- 14 directors; that same year, Judge Hebert, Mr. Wen, and other leaders
- 15 from the county traveled again to Foshan, where they renewed their
- 16 partnership; and
- WHEREAS, In the years since, members of the initiative have
- 18 traveled to the Republic of Turkey, where they have forged strong
- 19 ties with the cities of Ankara, Adana, Kocaeli, and Kahramanmaras;
- 20 these bonds of friendship with China and Turkey have also resulted
- 21 in comprehensive educational exchanges with both the Lamar
- 22 Consolidated and Fort Bend Independent School Districts, enabling
- 23 the students of the Fort Bend region to learn about other countries
- 24 and cultures; and

H.R. No. 692

- 1 WHEREAS, Fort Bend County Day at the State Capitol is an
- 2 appropriate occasion to recognize Judge Hebert, Chairman Wen, and
- 3 the members of the Fort Bend Global Initiative for their vision and
- 4 leadership in creating this important and far-reaching program;
- 5 now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby honor the Fort Bend Global Initiative for its
- 8 contributions to Fort Bend County and extend to Judge Hebert,
- 9 Chairman Wen, and the other members of the board sincere best wishes
- 10 for continued success; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the initiative as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Button Zerwas Miller of Fort Bend Stephenson

H.R. No. 692

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 692
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 692 was 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House