By: Murr

H.R. No. 698

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Leadership Kerr County is graduating its 30th class 2 in 2015, and this milestone provides a welcome opportunity to honor 3 this outstanding program; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding in 1985 as a joint initiative 4 between the Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce and Schreiner 5 University, Leadership Kerr County has excelled in its efforts to 6 7 help citizens gain the knowledge and experience they need to better guide the development of their communities; participants complete a 8 9 nine-month course of study that provides them with valuable information about a range of vital public issues, including 10 economic development, government, social services, and health 11 12 care; and

WHEREAS, The program inspires its students to become active in local affairs and offers them leadership training, networking opportunities, and instruction from influential figures in the public and private sectors; over the past 30 years, more than 500 people have taken part in this worthwhile endeavor, including numerous past and present community leaders; and

WHEREAS, The 2015 class of Leadership Kerr County includes David Brannom, Larry Cantu, Rene Curtis, Justin Foster, Mindi Franklin, Bridgit Giedeman, Donna Harris, Waverly Jones, Blake Laird, Jane Lehman, James Maberry, Toni Manchester, Susan Michelson, Stephanie Miller, Anthony Parinello, Timothy Rye, Chad Simpson, Jeri Skrumeda, J. David Samuel, Quincy Smith, and Tracy

1

H.R. No. 698

1 Soldan; and

2 WHEREAS, By fostering a more informed and involved citizenry, 3 Leadership Kerr County is helping to build a brighter and more 4 promising future for the Lone Star State, and all those associated 5 with the program may take justifiable pride in their achievements; 6 now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
8 Legislature hereby honor Leadership Kerr County and welcome its
9 members to the State Capitol; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for Leadership Kerr County as an expression of high regard 12 by the Texas House of Representatives.