By: McClendon

H.R. No. 710

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2015 2 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners at its signature event in Austin 3 on February 24 and 25, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1995, the Texas Cultural Trust heightens awareness of the many ways in which the arts enhance education and improve quality of life in our communities; the organization provides leadership in promoting and supporting the arts to ensure that the Lone Star State maintains its reputation for excellence in the cultural sphere and continues to benefit from related economic development; and

11 WHEREAS, Fulfilling its mission to inspire, integrate, and 12 illuminate the arts, the Texas Cultural Trust sponsors its biennial 13 Texas Medal of Arts Awards to pay tribute to Texans who have made 14 significant contributions in the state and around the world through 15 their creative talent or philanthropic efforts; and

WHEREAS, Those selected for the 2015 awards are T Bone 16 Burnett, music; Jamie Foxx, film; Kilgore College Rangerettes, 17 dance; Rick Lowe, visual arts; Lawrence Wright, literary arts; 18 Robert Schenkkan, theatre; Charles Renfro, architecture; Dan 19 Rather, television; Chandra Wilson, television; the Gatlin 20 21 Brothers, lifetime achievement; Dr Pepper Snapple Group, corporate arts patron; Margaret McDermott, individual arts patron; Emilio 22 23 Nicolas, multi-media; Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, arts education; and Ruth Altshuler, 24

1

H.R. No. 710

1 standing ovation; and

2 WHEREAS, The rich cultural heritage of our state is a source 3 of pride to all Texans, and through their outstanding endeavors, 4 the 2015 Medal of Arts Award honorees have immeasurably enhanced 5 the lives of people in the Lone Star State and beyond; now, 6 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2015 Texas
Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their
dedication to the advancement of the arts; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for each award winner as an expression of high regard by 13 the Texas House of Representatives.