H.R. No. 727

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Roland G. Parrish has been named the recipient of
- 2 the 2015 Texas Black Legislative Caucus Community Award for House
- 3 District 111; and
- WHEREAS, The president and chief executive officer of Parrish
- 5 McDonald's Restaurants Limited, Mr. Parrish purchased his first
- 6 McDonald's franchise in 1989; his company now owns two dozen stores
- 7 in the Dallas area, and it has been listed for nine consecutive
- 8 years on the Black Enterprise magazine list of the Top 100
- 9 Black-Owned Businesses in the United States; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan is serving his third term as
- 11 chair and chief executive officer of the National Black McDonald's
- 12 Operators Association, which represents 1,400 restaurants and
- 13 awards more than \$750,000 in scholarships annually; in addition, he
- 14 serves on the board of Ronald McDonald House Charities of North
- 15 Texas; his numerous accolades include the 365Black Award and the
- 16 Paul D. Schrage Lifetime Achievement Award; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to the advancement of higher
- 18 education, Mr. Parrish has given generously of his resources to his
- 19 alma mater, Purdue University, where he earned both his bachelor's
- 20 and master's degrees in business; he donated \$2 million for a
- 21 state-of-the-art renovation of the facility now known as the Roland
- 22 G. Parrish Library of Management and Economics, which is the first
- 23 major building on the Purdue campus to be named in honor of an
- 24 African American alumnus; moreover, he has contributed liberally to

H.R. No. 727

- 1 Purdue athletics and the Krannert School of Management, and he has
- 2 funded two scholarships; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Roland Parrish has set a sterling example as a
- 4 business leader and philanthropist, and he is indeed deserving of
- 5 this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate Roland G. Parrish on his receipt of
- 8 the 2015 Texas Black Legislative Caucus Community Award for House
- 9 District 111 and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future;
- 10 and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Mr. Parrish as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 727

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 727
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 727 was 26, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House