H.R. No. 728

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Foster Kids Charity of Dallas has provided valuable
service to children in need since its founding in 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, Foster Kids Charity distributes care packages that contain clothing, toiletries, school supplies, and healthy food 4 5 items to youths in the state foster care system, working to ensure that their basic needs are met during a period that is often marked 6 7 by upheaval and uncertainty; the group organizes a monthly drive to collect items for the packages, and it also helps the children by 8 9 hosting social events, such as movie nights and holiday parties; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Foster Kids Charity has expanded its efforts by 12 partnering with like-minded organizations in the Galveston area, 13 and in January 2015 the groups opened a donation bank to aid 14 children in that city and surrounding counties; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Foster Kids Charity has benefited from the steady guidance of Michelle Armour, the group's founder and the president of its board of directors; the organization has served more than 25,000 children since its inception, and it has been honored with the Best Community Partner Award from Child Protective Services; and

21 WHEREAS, With the worthy goal of increasing the well-being of 22 foster children in Texas, Foster Kids Charity makes important 23 contributions to assist some of the state's most vulnerable 24 residents, and it indeed merits special recognition for its

1

H.R. No. 728

1 achievements and service; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Foster Kids Charity and extend to all 4 those associated with the organization sincere best wishes for the 5 future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Foster Kids Charity as an expression of high regard by 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

Villalba

H.R. No. 728

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 728 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House