H.R. No. 734

By: Villalba

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Carson Leslie Foundation is making a positive 2 impact through its efforts in behalf of children battling cancer; 3 and

WHEREAS, In 2010, the foundation was established by Annette Leslie just a few months following the untimely death of her 17-year-old son, Carson; the organization is dedicated to raising funds for pediatric cancer and enriching the lives of teenage cancer patients; and

9 WHEREAS, The American Cancer Society reports that cancer is 10 the leading cause of death by disease in children under the age of 11 15; one in every 285 Americans develops cancer before the age of 20, 12 and the incidence of invasive pediatric cancers has gone up 29 13 percent in the past 20 years; some pediatric brain cancers are 14 terminal upon diagnosis, and no new protocols have been developed 15 in three decades; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, the Carson Leslie Foundation 16 has sponsored a variety of fund-raising events; it secured a \$3.2 17 million partnership with the Cancer Prevention and Research 18 Institute of Texas, and grants from the Carson Leslie Awards for 19 Pediatric Brain Cancers are now supporting research at 20 The 21 University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Baylor College of Medicine, and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; and 22 23 WHEREAS, The medical community has long recognized the need 24 to expand research in pediatric brain cancer, and the Carson Leslie

1

H.R. No. 734

Foundation is playing a vital role through its commitment to increasing funding for these vital endeavors; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Carson Leslie Foundation for raising funds to combat pediatric cancer and extend to all those associated with the organization sincere best wishes for continued success in their important work; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the foundation as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.