H.R. No. 742

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The BASF Corporation, a global leader in chemical
- 2 production, is marking the 150th anniversary of its founding in
- 3 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1865 and based in Ludwigshafen,
- 5 Germany, BASF develops chemicals, plastics, pesticides, raw
- 6 materials, and other products for a diverse range of industries
- 7 around the world; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The company has maintained a presence in the United
- 9 States since 1958, when it opened a manufacturing site in Freeport,
- 10 Texas; since that time, it has grown to encompass 13 locations
- 11 throughout the state, including 10 manufacturing facilities and a
- 12 division headquarters; and
- WHEREAS, Texas is the nation's largest chemical producer, and
- 14 BASF facilities in Texas represent over \$6.4 billion in assets,
- 15 while providing jobs to some 1,300 people; additionally, more than
- 16 700 contractors find employment as a direct result of BASF
- 17 manufacturing in Texas; and
- 18 WHEREAS, BASF also serves as a model for good corporate
- 19 citizenship through its dedication to social and environmental
- 20 responsibility; the company devotes a sizable portion of its
- 21 research and development budget to resource conservation and has
- 22 significantly reduced its waste emissions in recent years; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Companies that employ Texans and that contribute to
- 24 local economies are important components of a prosperous future,

H.R. No. 742

- 1 and BASF has built a positive reputation among the many outstanding
- 2 corporate enterprises that do business in the Lone Star State; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the BASF Corporation on its 150th
- 6 anniversary and extend to the company's management and employees
- 7 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the company as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

## H.R. No. 742

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Menéndez Turner of Collin Metcalf Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Farney VanDeaver Miller of Comal Villalba Farrar Miller of Fort Bend Vo Fletcher Walle Moody Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Murphy Workman Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı Zedler Goldman Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Gonzales

	H.R. No. 742
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 74	42 was adopted by the House on March 3,
2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House