H.R. No. 757

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Chapter of the National
- 2 Emergency Number Association are gathering at the State Capitol on
- 3 March 3, 2015, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to
- 4 recognize the history and lifesaving legacy of the 9-1-1 emergency
- 5 number system across the state and nation; and
- 6 WHEREAS, In 1967, the Federal Communications Commission and
- 7 the U.S. Congress, in association with the American Telephone and
- 8 Telegraph Company, established 9-1-1 as a universal, all-purpose
- 9 emergency telephone number, and in February 1968, the first
- 10 ceremonial 9-1-1 call was made in Haleyville, Alabama; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Public safety telecommunicators are the vital link
- 12 between citizens calling for help and the agencies that assist
- 13 them, and for nearly half a century, 9-1-1 has been the nationally
- 14 recognized number to call for immediate help from the police, the
- 15 fire department, or emergency medical services; and
- WHEREAS, More than 500 public safety answering points daily
- 17 serve the citizens of the Lone Star State by promptly responding to
- 18 their emergency calls and by dispatching appropriate assistance as
- 19 quickly as possible, and these dedicated telecommunicators,
- 20 emergency directors, planning professionals, and industry service
- 21 providers are ably represented by the Texas Chapter of the National
- 22 Emergency Number Association; and
- WHEREAS, When seconds count, Texans turn to 9-1-1, and the
- 24 state chapter of NENA is dedicated to promoting and encouraging the

H.R. No. 757

- 1 new and emerging technologies that are necessary to make 9-1-1 an
- 2 even faster, more accurate, and more reliable system; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize March 3, 2015, as 9-1-1 Day at the
- 6 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation from the Texas
- 7 Chapter of the National Emergency Number Association sincere best
- 8 wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit to Austin.

Moody

H.R. No. 757

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Guillen Parker Alonzo Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Menéndez Turner of Collin Metcalf Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Farney VanDeaver Miller of Comal Villalba Farrar Miller of Fort Bend Vo Fletcher Walle Moody Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Murphy Workman Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı Zedler Goldman Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Gonzales

				Н.	.R.	No.	757
		Speaker of the House					
757	was	adopted by	the	House	on	Marc	h 3,

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.R. No.

2015, by a non-record vote.