H.R. No. 760

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud members of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity are 2 gathering at the State Capitol on March 2, 2015, and this is a 3 fitting opportunity to celebrate the fraternity's exceptional 4 legacy of civic engagement; and

5 WHEREAS, Established at Cornell University on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha was the first intercollegiate Greek-letter 6 7 fraternity established by African Americans; founded by seven men who came to be known as the "Jewels" of the organization, Alpha Phi 8 9 Alpha initially served as a study and support group for minority students who were struggling against racial prejudice; these early 10 11 leaders laid the foundation for the fraternity's principles of 12 scholarship, fellowship, character, and the uplifting of humanity; 13 and

14 WHEREAS, In the years that followed, Alpha Phi Alpha chapters were formed at other colleges across the nation; while the 15 16 fraternity placed a strong emphasis on the academic excellence of its members, it also expanded its focus to address the educational, 17 economic, political, and social injustices faced by African 18 Americans and people of color around the world; over the decades, 19 20 many former Alpha Phi Alpha members have stood at the forefront of 21 the fight for civil rights, including W. E. B. Du Bois, Paul Robeson, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Adam 22 23 Clayton Powell Jr., Edward Brooke, Andrew Young, and William Gray; 24 and

1

H.R. No. 760

1 WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha has been an interracial group since 2 1945 and now encompasses chapters in five U.S. regions; the 3 fraternity has an especially rich history in the Lone Star State, 4 which has been home to three of the organization's general 5 presidents; in addition, a number of prominent Texas leaders are 6 Alpha Phi Alpha alumni, including several members of the Texas 7 House of Representatives; and

8 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Alpha Phi Alpha has worked 9 to foster a brotherhood of concerned citizens who devote themselves 10 to the greater good, and its members may indeed reflect with pride 11 on their organization's noteworthy tradition of activism and 12 achievement; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 14 Legislature hereby recognize March 2, 2015, as Alpha Phi Alpha 15 Fraternity Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting 16 members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 17 further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the fraternity as an expression of high regard by the 20 Texas House of Representatives.

> Reynolds Turner of Harris Miles Deshotel

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 760

H.R. No. 760

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 760 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House