H.R. No. 761

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network,
- 2 the advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer Society, and its
- 3 dedicated volunteers have worked tirelessly toward the goal of
- 4 reducing the occurrence of cancer in our state by advocating for
- 5 laws and policies that will make cancer a top priority; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Cancer is the second-leading cause of death in the
- 7 United States and will claim the lives of nearly 590,000 Americans
- 8 in 2015; in this year alone, 113,000 Texans will hear the words "You
- 9 have cancer"; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Investment in cancer research has paid impressive
- 11 dividends, reducing the death rate and saving thousands of lives;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
- 14 volunteers across Texas are engaged in numerous activities to
- 15 support the fight against cancer and assist those living with the
- 16 disease; more than 300 Relay for Life events across the state engage
- 17 local communities in working to raise awareness of public policy
- 18 issues important to the fight against cancer; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby commend the American Cancer Society Cancer
- 21 Action Network and its devoted volunteers for their exceptional
- 22 work in fighting this deadly disease and extend to them best wishes
- 23 for continued success in their efforts; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 761

- 1 prepared for the network as an expression of high regard by the
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.

Zerwas

H.R. No. 761

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren	González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray
Frullo Galindo Geren	Muñoz, Jr.	White of Tyler
Giddings Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira	wu Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 761
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 761 was	adopted by the House on March 4,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House