H.R. No. 792

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement is marking
 the 50th anniversary of its establishment in 2015; and

3 WHEREAS, Created by an act of the 59th Texas Legislature on August 30, 1965, TCOLE is tasked with setting and implementing 4 5 standards to guarantee the integrity and efficacy of the law enforcement profession; its duties include issuing licenses to 6 7 peace officers, jailers, and security personnel and ensuring that a prescribed code of conduct is maintained in their ranks; in 8 9 addition, TCOLE oversees the police academies of Texas and 10 determines the requirements for obtaining proficiency 11 certificates; and

WHEREAS, TCOLE is also responsible for the preservation of the Texas Peace Officers' Memorial, a monument that rests on the State Capitol grounds, and it presents flags to the families of fallen officers; furthermore, the commission accords a number of awards each year to acknowledge acts of valor and other achievements that go above and beyond the call of duty; and

18 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to the men and women 19 who are sworn to serve and protect, and through its commitment to 20 honoring the public trust, the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement 21 has played a proud and vital role in our state; now, therefore, be 22 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas Commission on Law

1

H.R. No. 792
1 Enforcement on its 50th anniversary and commend all those, past and
2 present, who have been associated with the commission for their
3 outstanding public service; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the commission as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Dale

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 792

3

H.R. No. 792

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 792 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House