H.R. No. 795

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dedicated public relations and education 2 professionals are gathering in Austin on March 3, 2015, to 3 celebrate Texas School Public Relations Association Day at the 4 State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas School Public Relations Association was founded by 11 Texas delegates who attended the National School 6 Public Relations Association's annual convention in 1962; the group 7 sought to promote greater understanding between Texas schools and 8 9 citizens, and as membership increased, the TSPRA was incorporated in 1977 as the Texas Chapter of the NSPRA; today, the organization 10 11 boasts more than 800 members, many of them public information and 12 communications specialists who work with schools and organizations across the state; they are ably led by Linsae Snider, who has served 13 14 as executive director since July 2010; and

WHEREAS, Expanding on the original mission of facilitating 15 successful public relations, TSPRA also collaborates with 16 like-minded associations and provides many opportunities for 17 professional development; looking to the future, the organization 18 has presented two major website renovations since 2005, allowing 19 for better access to such valuable tools as discussion forums, 20 21 webinars, and workshops, so that its associates may continue to 22 best serve Texas schools through further technological 23 development; and

24

WHEREAS, This award-winning group was first named best NSPRA

1

H.R. No. 795

1 chapter in 1972 and has continued to receive such impressive honors as Outstanding Year-Round Project and Distinguished Chapter; TSPRA 2 3 affiliates have also earned recognition by serving on statewide committees, and many have presented at state and national 4 5 conferences; additionally, the group has been acknowledged for its important annual ventures, including the Celebrate Texas Public 6 Schools initiative, the Texas Public Schools Week Promotional Kit, 7 8 and the Key Communicator Award, which is given by the TSPRA to someone who has made a substantial impact in the field of public 9 10 school communications; and

11 WHEREAS, The members of the Texas School Public Relations 12 Association have demonstrated outstanding leadership and 13 commitment to Texas public schools and their communities, and in 14 doing so they have established a notable record of achievement; 15 now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize March 3, 2015, as Texas School Public 18 Relations Association Day at the State Capitol and extend to all 19 those in attendance sincere best wishes for an enjoyable visit to 20 Austin; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzales

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 795

H.R. No. 795

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 795 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House