H.R. No. 818

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The 25th anniversary of the signing of the historic 2 Americans with Disabilities Act is being commemorated with a nationwide Legacy Tour, and Texans are 3 joining in on the celebration as the exhibition visits Austin March 1-4, 2015; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Launched in Houston in July 2014, this yearlong tour is helping to raise awareness of the landmark civil rights 6 legislation through its Road to Freedom bus, which features a 7 four-panel display on the history of self-advocacy, courtesy of the 8 9 Museum of disABILITY History, and an information exhibit with literature on both the ADA and the ADA Legacy Project, as well as 10 11 workshops, artifacts, and other programming provided by local 12 hosts; and 13 WHEREAS, The tour bus will visit numerous locations while in Austin, including Disability Rights Texas, the Jewish Community Center, Stephen F. Austin High School, Pease Elementary School, the

Austin, including Disability Rights Texas, the Jewish Community
Center, Stephen F. Austin High School, Pease Elementary School, the
Criss Cole Rehabilitation Center, and the Capital MetroRail
Crestview Station; on March 3, the project will be on view at the
State Capitol and the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, where
special tribute will be paid to Texas Trailblazers—citizens
instrumental in the creation, passage, and advancement of the
ADA—in the Austin Room; and

WHEREAS, An inestimable safeguard of civil rights, the
Americans with Disabilities Act has opened the door to opportunity
and achievement for millions of people, and the law's profound

H.R. No. 818

- 1 impact is indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore,
- 2 be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the Americans with Disabilities Act Legacy
- 5 Tour and extend best wishes to the project's organizers and
- 6 sponsors.

Raymond Price

## H.R. No. 818

	H.R. No. 818
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 818	was adopted by the House on March 3,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House