H.R. No. 820

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, St. Patrick's Day is celebrated on March 2 17, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to honor the 3 origins of the event and to highlight the many contributions that 4 individuals of Irish descent have made to the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Born into a wealthy Romano-British family in the 4th century, St. Patrick was kidnapped at the age of 16 by Irish raiders 6 7 and taken captive to the Emerald Isle; according to his writings, divine intervention allowed him to escape, and he entered the 8 9 priesthood soon after; he later returned to Ireland and spent nearly 30 years teaching the island's residents about his faith, 10 11 thereby becoming the principal champion of Irish Christianity in 12 legend and folklore; St. Patrick's Day, which commemorates the day of his death in 461, has become a celebration of Irish heritage 13 14 around the world, and in recent decades the government of Ireland has made the observance a centerpiece of its efforts to showcase the 15 16 country and its culture; and

WHEREAS, One of the earliest Irish residents of Texas was Hugh O'Connor, who served as governor of the Spanish territory from 1767 to 1770; natives of Ireland also played a central role in the settlement of Texas in the early 1800s, including empresarios James McGloin, John McMullen, and James Power, who brought dozens of Irish families to South Texas and the Gulf Coast; and

WHEREAS, All three of these men participated in the Texas
Revolution, as did Irishmen such as John Joseph Linn, Francis Moore

1

1 Jr., and Thomas William Ward; a dozen individuals from the Emerald Isle died defending the Alamo, and 100 Irish-born troops helped win 2 3 the independence of Texas in the decisive Battle of San Jacinto; and 4 WHEREAS, The number of immigrants from Ireland grew 5 dramatically in the mid-1800s, and several prominent Irish natives made their mark during that period; Samuel McKinney was an early 6 president of Austin College, Father Michael Sheehan established the 7 8 first Catholic church in Austin and became one of the first full-time Catholic chaplains in the U.S. Army, and Peter Gallagher 9 10 served as a Texas Ranger and helped organize Pecos County; later in the 19th century, Irishman John William Mallet served as the first 11 12 faculty chair at The University of Texas at Austin, and artist Henry Arthur McArdle produced many famous paintings inspired by Texas 13 14 history, some of which now hang in the State Capitol; and

15 WHEREAS, With the passing decades, additional people from Ireland found a new home in Texas, and they and the descendents of 16 17 previous immigrants have had an enduring influence on the state's lifestyle and development; today, Irish culture is celebrated in 18 formal programs such as the Center for Irish Studies at the 19 University of St. Thomas in Houston, as well as in statewide 20 St. Patrick's Day celebrations, and it is appropriate to join in 21 recognizing the significant role that Irish Americans have played 22 23 in the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the state's vital Irish heritage and extend Happy St. Patrick's Day wishes to all Irish Americans.

Murphy

H.R. No. 820

2

H.R. No. 820

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 820

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 820 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House