By: Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 844

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In the summer of 2014, the skill and bravery of Brent
- 2 Crossley and Vance Griffin of the Texas Department of Public Safety
- 3 helped lead to the apprehension of a dangerous suspect; and
- WHEREAS, On August 18, 2014, Pilot Investigator Crossley and
- 5 Tactical Flight Officer Griffin took to the air by helicopter from
- 6 Waco with another tactical flight officer from Garland in order to
- 7 assist in a manhunt; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The suspect had fired on peace officers, and
- 9 Officers Crossley and Griffin flew to a remote, wooded area of the
- 10 Hill Country, where they located and engaged with the suspect in
- 11 order to draw his fire away from other law enforcement
- 12 professionals on the ground; thanks in large measure to the swift
- 13 and courageous action of the men in the helicopter, the suspect was
- 14 arrested; and
- 15 WHEREAS, In recognition of their vital role in this
- 16 successful operation, Officers Crossley and Griffin each received a
- 17 Director's Citation from Texas DPS Director Steven McCraw at a
- 18 ceremony in Austin on December 18, 2014; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The men and women of Texas law enforcement regularly
- 20 put themselves in harm's way in order to preserve the peace and
- 21 protect the public, and with their actions on that fateful day,
- 22 Brent Crossley and Vance Griffin amply demonstrated their
- 23 commitment to the highest ideals of the Texas Department of Public
- 24 Safety; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 844

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Pilot Investigator Brent Crossley and
- 3 Tactical Flight Officer Vance Griffin for their actions on August
- 4 18, 2014, and congratulate them on their receipt of Director's
- 5 Citations from the Texas Department of Public Safety; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 8 for Officers Crossley and Griffin as an expression of high regard by
- 9 the Texas House of Representatives.