H.R. No. 850

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Heroes Night Out in Cedar Park is celebrating the
- 2 fifth anniversary of the opening of its veterans resource center on
- 3 July 26, 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Wes and Judy Pierce, the proud parents of 12
- 5 children, five of whom have served in the United States armed
- 6 forces, founded Heroes Night Out in 2008 after visiting a wounded
- 7 soldier at Brooke Army Medical Center in San Antonio; the program
- 8 initially donated gift cards to military personnel and their
- 9 families, and its scope was later dramatically expanded to meet the
- 10 even greater needs of veterans; and
- WHEREAS, In 2010, the Pierces acquired a 6,000-square-foot
- 12 building from their church, Twin Lakes Fellowship, and within a
- 13 year, they transformed the space into a resource center; today, the
- 14 nonprofit provides support to more than 1,000 Central Texas
- 15 servicemembers each month, assisting with VA claims, legal issues,
- 16 housing, and employment as well as offering on-site psychiatrist
- 17 visits and peer-to-peer counseling; in addition, the initiative
- 18 participates in homebuilding projects and hosts a free dinner and
- 19 magic show each month; and
- WHEREAS, Heroes Night Out has made a meaningful difference in
- 21 the lives of countless veterans and their loved ones, and this
- 22 occasion presents a welcome opportunity to honor this vital
- 23 organization; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 850

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the fifth anniversary of the opening
- 2 of the Heroes Night Out veterans resource center and extend to all
- 3 those associated with the program sincere appreciation for their
- 4 important work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Pierce family as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Dale

<b>TT</b>	_	3. T	850
	-	NO	850

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 850 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House