H.R. No. 916

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Seven members of Girl Scout Troop No. 2644 in
Woodville have earned the prestigious Girl Scout Silver Award; and
WHEREAS, Those who have achieved this recognition are Paige
Evans, Sidney Smith, Elizabeth Dennis, Faith Hicks, Justine
Loechel, Carmen Mahaffey, and Meagan Davis; and

6 WHEREAS, The highest award a Girl Scout Cadette can attain, 7 the Silver Award recognizes girls in the sixth, seventh, or eighth 8 grade who have made a positive difference in their community; 9 working individually or as part of a team, girls choose an issue 10 they care about and develop a project that addresses it; and

11 WHEREAS, By completing the requirements for the Silver Award, 12 Girl Scouts improve their leadership and organizational skills 13 while exploring different fields of interest; after putting their 14 plans into action, the girls reflect on what they have learned and 15 share their story with others; and

16 WHEREAS, The dedication, commitment, and perseverance that 17 these bright young Texans have demonstrated in pursuit of their 18 goals have won them the respect and admiration of their peers, and 19 their outstanding efforts have proven them indeed worthy of this 20 honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Paige Evans, Sidney Smith, Elizabeth Dennis, Faith Hicks, Justine Loechel, Carmen Mahaffey, and Meagan Davis on their receipt of the Girl Scout Silver Award and

1

H.R. No. 916 1 extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 2 further

3 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 4 for these Girl Scout Cadettes as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

White of Tyler

H.R. No. 916

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 916 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House