H.R. No. 1096

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Pasadena Chief of Police Michael W. Thaler has
rendered outstanding service in behalf of residents in Pasadena and
Houston; and

WHEREAS, Chief Thaler graduated from South Houston High School and went on to earn a bachelor's degree in criminal justice from the University of Houston-Downtown and a master's degree in psychology from Sam Houston State University; he began his career in law enforcement when he joined the Houston Police Department in 9 1976; and

WHEREAS, During his time with HPD, Chief Thaler gained extensive experience in a wide range of areas, including crime analysis, internal investigations, and emergency communications; by the end of his tenure, he was executive assistant chief of the department, had spent more than 14 years as a member of the HPD command staff, and had received the department's Manager of the Year Award as well as several Chief of Police commendations; and

WHEREAS, Chief Thaler was appointed to head the Pasadena Police Department in 2009; in his capacity as police chief, he is responsible for more than 270 officers and 85 civilian employees, and he works to ensure high quality police support for the community; and

WHEREAS, Michael W. Thaler has dedicated himself to the safety and well-being of his fellow citizens throughout his career hin law enforcement, and he has earned widespread respect for his

1

H.R. No. 1096 1 exceptional leadership skills and commitment to excellence; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize Chief Michael W. Thaler for his 5 achievements with the Houston and Pasadena Police Departments and 6 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 7 further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Chief Thaler as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Peña

H.R. No. 1096

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1096 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House