H.R. No. 1097

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly 85 years, the Pasadena Fire Department

2 has protected the lives and property of the residents of Pasadena,

3 and its skilled and courageous members are truly deserving of

4 special recognition; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in the summer of 1930, two years after the

6 incorporation of the city, the department was originally made up of

7 25 members under the leadership of Fire Chief Joe Fels; its first

8 piece of equipment, a 1929 American LaFrance pumper called "Old

9 Betsy," is still displayed by the department during parades and

10 special events; and

11 WHEREAS, Today, under the leadership of Fire Chief Lanny

12 Armstrong, the PVFD continues to be the largest

13 single-municipality, all-volunteer fire department in the United

14 States, with more than 200 active and 50 semi-active members

15 working out of nine stations with 40-plus vehicles; the department

16 serves 140,000 people living within 52 square miles and answers

17 approximately 170 alarms a month, responding not only to fires but

18 also to hazardous material accidents and rescue situations; and

19 WHEREAS, The PVFD is a party to mutual aid fire protection

20 agreements with nearby cities, and it also answers calls at

21 Ellington Field, the Johnson Space Center, and the University of

22 Houston-Clear Lake; in addition, it is a member of the Channel

23 Industries Mutual Aid partnership, which provides fire protection,

24 rescue, hazardous material handling, and emergency medical

H.R. No. 1097

- 1 capabilities to local refineries and petrochemical facilities; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The dedicated and highly trained volunteers of the
- 3 PVFD provide an essential service to their fellow citizens and help
- 4 to make Pasadena a safer and more secure place in which to live and
- 5 work; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby honor the men and women of the Pasadena Fire
- 8 Department for their vital contributions to their community and
- 9 extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 10 further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the department as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Peña

## H.R. No. 1097

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Farrar Vo Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1097
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1097 was 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on March
	Chief Clerk of the House