H.R. No. 1136

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Sam Johnson, the United States

Representative for the Third Congressional District of Texas, is

3 marking the 42nd anniversary of his release from a North Vietnamese

4 prison camp in 2015; and

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of Southern Methodist University, Sam

6 Johnson entered the United States Air Force at the age of 20 and

7 carried out more than 60 combat missions as a fighter pilot in the

8 Korean War; he went on to join the prestigious Air Force

9 Thunderbirds and to direct the Air Force Fighter Weapons School;

10 and

13

2

WHEREAS, On April 16, 1966, during his second tour of duty in

12 Vietnam, then Major Johnson was flying his 25th combat mission over

North Vietnam when his plane was shot down; he was able to eject

14 from the cockpit and sustained a dislocated shoulder, broken arm,

15 and broken back; for nearly seven years, the enemy held him captive

16 in the notorious "Hanoi Hilton," where he endured beatings,

17 starvation, solitary confinement, and other grievous abuse; and

18 WHEREAS, His ordeal finally ended with his release on

19 February 12, 1973; this distinguished Texan continued to serve in

20 the military, attaining the rank of colonel before his retirement

21 in 1979; over the course of 29 years in the air force, Congressman

22 Johnson received numerous decorations, including two Silver Stars,

23 two Legions of Merit, the Distinguished Flying Cross, a Bronze Star

24 with Valor, two Purple Hearts, four Air Medals, and three

H.R. No. 1136

- 1 Outstanding Unit Awards; he later published a memoir, Captive
- 2 Warriors: A Vietnam POW's Story; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Congressman Johnson began his career in public
- 4 service as a member of the Texas House of Representatives; since his
- 5 election to Congress in 1991, he has been one of that body's
- 6 foremost champions of the men and women in the military, and for his
- 7 efforts in their behalf, he was awarded in 2009 the National Patriot
- 8 Award, the highest civilian accolade conferred by the Congressional
- 9 Medal of Honor Society; that same year, his colleagues named him the
- 10 "Most Admired" Republican in the U.S. House of Representatives; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Few can claim such a long and distinguished record
- 12 of service to this nation, and the courage, strength of character,
- 13 and love of country that Congressman Johnson has so abundantly
- 14 demonstrated have earned him the esteem of every American; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby honor Congressman Sam Johnson on the 42nd
- 18 anniversary of his homecoming from Vietnam and express lasting
- 19 appreciation for his exceptional contributions in both time of war
- 20 and time of peace; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Congressman Johnson as an expression of high regard by
- 23 the Texas House of Representatives.

Leach Laubenberg Sanford Turner of Collin Shaheen

H.R. No. 1136

González Straus Allen Guerra Guillen Alonzo Alvarado Gutierrez Harless Anchia Anderson of Dallas Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Herrero Ashby Howard Aycock Huberty Bell Hughes Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Israel Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Keffer Keough

Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Klick Clardy Coleman Koop Collier Krause Cook Kuempel Craddick Landgraf Crownover Larson Cyrier Laubenberg Dale Leach Longoria Darby Davis of Dallas Lozano Lucio III

Márquez

Martinez

Metcalf

Meyer

Miles

Moody

Murphy

Naishtat

Oliveira

Nevárez

Murr

Otto

Morrison

Muñoz, Jr.

McClendon

Martinez Fischer

Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend

Davis of Harris
Deshotel
Dukes
Dutton
Elkins
Faircloth
Fallon
Farias
Farney
Farrar
Fletcher
Flynn

Flynn
Frank
Frullo
Galindo
Geren
Giddings
Goldman
Gonzales

onzález

uerra

uillen

utierrez

arless

ernandez

errero

oward

uberty

ughes

unter

saac

srael

ohnson

acal

paddie

Parker

Paul

Peña

Phelan

Phillips

Price

Raney

Raney

Raymond

Reynolds

Reynolds

Riddle

Rinaldi

Rodriguez of Bexar

Rodriguez of Travia

Kacal Rodriguez of Travis
Keffer Romero, Jr.
Keough Rose
King of Hemphill Sanford
King of Parker Schaefer
King of Taylor Schofield
King of Uvalde Schubert
Klick Shaheen

Shaheen
Sheets
Sheffield
Simmons
Simpson
Smith
Smithee
Spitzer
Springer
Stephenson
Stickland
Thompson of

Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris

Tinderholt

Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant

VanDeaver Villalba Vo

White of Bell White of Tyler

Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Walle

3

											н.к.	NO.	1136
								Speaker of the House					
	I cer	tify	that	H.R. No	. 11	.36	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	March
11,	2015, by	a no	n-rec	ord vot	е.								
							_	Chie	f Cl	erk	of the	Hou	.se