H.R. No. 1139

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Belton are gathering in Austin on
March 12, 2015, to celebrate City of Belton Day at the State
Capitol; and

WHEREAS, When Bell County was founded in 1850, the centrally located county seat was originally named Nolanville, but when the Fourth Legislature of Texas incorporated the town in 1851, the name was changed to Belton; the courthouse square developed into a regional trading center, especially for the processing and shipping of local cotton crops, and the late 1800s brought a number of cattle drives through the area to the nearby Chisholm Trail; and

11 WHEREAS, Belton is home to the University of Mary 12 Hardin-Baylor, an outstanding institution of higher education chartered by the Republic of Texas in 1845, and the town's 19,000 13 14 residents benefit from the cultural and educational opportunities that it provides, as well as from more than 160 acres of parkland, 15 16 highlighted by the Nolan Creek Hike and Bike Trail; and

WHEREAS, Tourists are attracted to Belton's elegant historic 17 buildings and numerous parks and outdoor recreational activities; 18 the downtown courthouse, built in 1885, is an architectural beauty, 19 20 and Belton Lake and the meandering Nolan Creek offer hikers and 21 cyclists ample room for exploration; the city's annual Independence Day Celebration, which began in 1852, has grown into a weeklong 22 23 event that includes a parade, carnival, arts and crafts festival, cattle drive, and professional rodeo; and 24

1

H.R. No. 1139

1 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich and colorful history as they 2 work together to build a bright future, the citizens of Belton may 3 take justifiable pride in the small-town charm of their hometown; 4 now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize March 12, 2015, as City of Belton Day 7 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 8 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

White of Bell

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1139

H.R. No. 1139

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1139 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House