H.R. No. 1144

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Greeks around the world are commemorating the 194th 2 anniversary of a pivotal moment in their history with the 3 observance of Greek Independence Day on March 25, 2015; and

WHEREAS, After centuries of oppression under the Ottoman Empire, the Greeks rose up in March 1821 when the courageous Bishop Germanos of Patras raised the flag of revolution over the Monastery of Agia Lavra in the Peloponnese; the Greeks were badly outnumbered, but they adopted the cry "freedom or death" as their motto and stayed true to it; and

WHEREAS, Greek representatives declared their nation's independence in January 1822 and drafted a modern constitution in a national assembly; although the struggle continued, the freedom fighters were resolved to restore the principles of democracy established by Greece during antiquity; the nation finally achieved recognition as an independent state with the signing of the Treaty of Edirne in 1829; and

WHEREAS, Greece and the United States are both founded on the 17 bedrock principle of self-determination, and they share a culture 18 that values faith, community, civic engagement, and the democratic 19 20 form of government; this significant date in the Greek calendar provides an ideal opportunity to celebrate the deep connections 21 between our countries and to acknowledge the many contributions 22 23 made by people of Greek descent to the United States and the world; now, therefore, be it 24

1

H.R. No. 1144

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize March 25, 2015, as Greek Independence 3 Day and encourage all Texans to learn more about the history of 4 Greece and its democracy.

Bonnen of Brazoria

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1144

H.R. No. 1144

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1144 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House