H.R. No. 1168

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Billy B. Hopper of Mentone retired from his position
- 2 as sheriff of Loving County on December 31, 2014, after 15 years of
- 3 outstanding service; and
- WHEREAS, Sheriff Hopper was first elected in 2004, after an
- 5 exemplary five-year tenure as deputy sheriff; in addition to his
- 6 work in law enforcement, he has worn many hats, serving local
- 7 citizens as the voter registrar and tax assessor and collector and
- 8 as the Loving County director of the West Texas Regional
- 9 Transportation Authority; and
- 10 WHEREAS, A veteran of the United States Air Force, Billy
- 11 Hopper holds a master peace officer license and has completed more
- 12 than 2,700 hours of education and training; furthermore, he is a
- 13 member of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas and the Big Bend Area
- 14 Law Enforcement Officers Association; and
- WHEREAS, Loving County covers 645 square miles and has a
- 16 population of less than 100 people, and Sheriff Hopper's family
- 17 began homesteading on this rugged land in 1908; in retirement, he
- 18 will continue to serve as the county's reserve deputy, and he also
- 19 looks forward to spending more time with his loved ones and
- 20 traveling around the United States; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure, Billy Hopper has exemplified
- 22 the highest ideals of the law enforcement profession, and in so
- 23 doing, he has contributed immeasurably to the safety and well-being
- 24 of his fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1168

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Billy B. Hopper on his retirement
- 3 as sheriff of Loving County and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 4 for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- $\,$ 6 $\,$ prepared for Mr. Hopper as an expression of high regard by the Texas $\,$
- 7 House of Representatives.

Nevárez

H.R. No. 1168

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1168 was adopted by the House on March 18, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House