H.R. No. 1181

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jerry Vance, head coach of the Liberty Hill High
- 2 School football team, was named the 2014 Class 4A Coach of the Year
- 3 by Dave Campbell's Texas Football magazine; and
- WHEREAS, Coach Vance was selected for this prestigious honor
- 5 after an impressive 2014 campaign in which he led the Panthers to
- 6 the District 14-4A title and a 12-3 overall record; under his able
- 7 guidance, the squad bounced back from two early-season losses to
- 8 make an exciting postseason run, advancing all the way to the
- 9 University Interscholastic League 4A Division 1 semifinals; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This accomplished coach took the helm at Liberty
- 11 Hill in 2001, and during his remarkable 14-year tenure, he has
- 12 helped the Panthers reach new levels of achievement on the
- 13 gridiron; the team captured consecutive UIL 3A state championships
- 14 in 2006 and 2007, and the school's other sports programs have
- 15 enjoyed notable success with Coach Vance leading the way as
- 16 athletic director; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Jerry Vance has served as a positive role model to
- 18 hundreds of student-athletes and contributed greatly to the rich
- 19 tradition of athletic excellence at Liberty Hill High School, and
- 20 this latest accomplishment confirms his status as one of the most
- 21 highly respected high school football coaches in the Lone Star
- 22 State; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Jerry Vance on his selection as the

H.R. No. 1181

- 1 2014 Class 4A Coach of the Year by Dave Campbell's Texas Football
- 2 magazine and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 3 success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Coach Vance as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Farney

H.R. No. 1181

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1181 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House