By: Muñoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 1193

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, School board members play an integral role in the 2 education of our children, and the observance of School Board 3 Recognition Month in January 2015 provides a welcome opportunity to 4 honor the trustees of the Sharyland Independent School District; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, Located in Mission, Sharyland ISD encompasses 14 7 schools and serves a student population of more than 10,000; the 8 seven school board members who oversee this district work closely 9 with Dr. Maria Filomena Leo, interim superintendent, as well as 10 with parents, teachers, and community leaders to ensure an optimal 11 learning environment for all students; and

12 WHEREAS, The board is ably led by president Dr. Noel 13 O. Garza, vice president Ricky Longoria, secretary Dr. Noe 14 Oliveira, and assistant secretary Julio Cerda; other members 15 include Eddie Montalvo, Fernando Ramirez, and Rolando Peña; and

16 WHEREAS, Each of these notable Texans demonstrates an 17 exemplary commitment to area students, and through their vision and 18 leadership, they are contributing immeasurably to the future of the 19 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 21 Legislature hereby honor the members of the Sharyland Independent 22 School District Board of Trustees on the occasion of School Board 23 Recognition Month and extend to them sincere appreciation for their 24 outstanding service to the community; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 1193

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Sharyland ISD Board of Trustees as an expression of
high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.