H.R. No. 1212

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Since its inception, K9s4COPs has provided generous
support to Texas law enforcement, and the organization is
celebrating its fourth anniversary in March 2015; and

WHEREAS, Most police departments and similar agencies operate under tight budget constraints, and trained police dogs can cost as much as \$15,000; Houston resident Kristi Hoss Schiller founded K9s4COPs in 2010 to donate K9s to law enforcement, and the following year, the group gave four dogs to the Harris County Sheriff's Office; and

10 WHEREAS, The group also works to raise awareness of the 11 accomplishments of K9s and their handlers, and Ms. Schiller 12 expanded the initiative in 2013 with the establishment of K9s4KIDs, 13 which offers K9s to school districts and college campuses; and

WHEREAS, This noteworthy organization has provided state agencies with 100 trained dogs over the past four years, and the K9s have helped capture hundreds of criminals and intercept more than \$70 million in contraband, including guns, explosives, narcotics, and cash; and

WHEREAS, Through its notable endeavors, K9s4COPs has helped many law enforcement agencies more effectively serve and protect the citizens of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 26, 2015, as K9s4COPs Day at the State Capitol and commend everyone associated with the group for

1

H.R. No. 1212

1 their contributions to public safety; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Fletcher

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1212

H.R. No. 1212

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1212 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House