H.R. No. 1252

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Mariachi Oro from McAllen High School was
- 2 crowned 6A Champion at the 2015 Mexican American School Board
- 3 Members Association/University Interscholastic League High School
- 4 State Mariachi Competition, held in San Antonio, TX on February 7;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ably led by director Alex Treviño, the members of
- 7 Mariachi Oro impressed the judges with their skill and passion and
- 8 were awarded a Division 1 Superior rating; the group closed out the
- 9 competition with an exceptional 12-minute set that included the
- 10 songs "Yo Soy de Mero Jalisco," "Ódiame," and "La Rosa Colorada";
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, This is the second consecutive year Mariachi Oro has
- 13 won a state championship, after claiming the title in the 5A
- 14 division in 2014; though the 2015 ensemble contained many new
- 15 members, the students once again demonstrated the hard work and
- 16 determination necessary to earn the championship plaque and medals;
- 17 and
- WHEREAS, By proving themselves one of the finest ensembles in
- 19 the Lone Star State, the members of the McAllen High School Mariachi
- 20 Oro have become a source of great pride to their school and
- 21 community, and these talented young musicians may take
- 22 well-deserved satisfaction in this outstanding accomplishment;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 1252

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the McAllen High School Mariachi
- 2 Oro on being named 6A Champion at the 2015 MASBA/UIL High School
- 3 State Mariachi Competition and extend to the group's members
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mariachi Oro as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Muñoz, Jr. Guerra

H.R. No. 1252

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1252
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1252 wa	as adopted by the House on March
16, 2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House